Monday October 10th – My Once Every Two Years Shopping Experience

I generally try to avoid clothes shopping like the plague but considering it’s probably been a few years, I think that it was about time to make the plunge.  I wish that every weekend was a three-day weekend because it’d be nice to have at least one day to take care of life-stuff like food shopping or doing laundry.  However, at the end of the day I’d still rather show up at work on Monday morning sore and tired from having an awesome adventure over the weekend instead of being well rested and having my laundry done.

I finally put the strings on the guitar that I refinished for Sarah's birthday. I might be more than a full month late with her present but I think it was totally worth it. It's better to get it right instead of to finish quickly. It sounds awesome by the way.

image

Cruising around Davis Square in Somerville getting food and some new clothes, I felt like such a hipster.

image

Bought some pants for approximately $150 off because the belt loops were broken, yay for thrift stores.

image

Heading into Downtown Crossing for some Columbus Day sales. Looking to get new running shorts and some other stuff.

image

Running shorts at City Sports for <$20, sweet. My current running shorts were melted in the dryer but I've been wearing them for months, it's about time for an upgrade I think.

image

We were rocking a severe calorie deficit from the 20+ mile hiking weekend so we stopped to eat $3 sandwiches at this Vietnamese place #reasonsIlovechinatown

image

After lunch we went to Boston Common Coffee for some caffeine. Excellent yet overpriced coffee selection.

image

I found out that I got some stuff an extra 25% off at Eddie Bauer b/c the cashier messed up, win.

image

Doing some updates to the blog while Sarah was rocking a Zumba class.

image

In case you were wondering, this is apparently what I look like when I'm writing blog posts.

image

More blog updating.

image

Chocolate bar left over from the hiking trip, unacceptable, so I promptly ate it.

image

First time back at my apartment since Friday morning. A drastically different change in scenery compared to the last picture I took while wearing this backpack.

image

Getting some groceries for the week at Shaw's, trying as hard as I can to limit the trash associated with my purchases. Most of this food doesn't have packaging and can be composted.

image

Had to dump some food scraps into the compost. Roughly 1.5 months into it and there's plenty of compost (worm crap). Usually I do it weekly but I haven't done it in 2.5 weeks or so and I think the worms were pissed off b/c they were trying to crawl out. It could be too wet b/c I just recently added some moist (perhaps too moist) newspaper bedding.

image

Made some baked pasta with kale, brocolli, ricotta cheese, mozzarella cheese, and spicy Italian sausage.

So after today I’m the proud new owner of 2 pairs of pants, two pairs of running shorts, a shirt, and a massive amount of baked pasta, Mmmmmm.  I’m looking forward to having a four-day work week because Saturday is Tufts homecoming and Sunday is Mt. Isolation.  Sounds like next Monday morning I should be sore, tired, and short on laundry.  I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

This entry was posted in October - A Random Photo-Journal of my 5-9 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

