Saturday October 15th – Tufts Alumni 5k Costume Champions

Today we got up approximately 15 minutes before the alumni homecoming 5k race at Tufts, aka The Jumbo Stampede 5k.  Still semi-disoriented from the night before and getting less than 5 hours of sleep, we put on our rock climbing gear and ran to the starting line to gear up with ice axes, our boombox, and face paint.  Over the past three years the costume competitions have been won by us running the race in our mountaineering gear.  The video below was from the race start at 8am.  I’m not sure we could have found a heavier boombox to carry for 3.1 miles but it was totally worth it to have Rage Against the Machine playing in the background.

After the race we did an alumni scavenger hunt, mostly because there were more prizes than participants so we were undoubtedly going to get something awesome.  We ended up with 4 Patriots tickets but the game is on Christmas Eve.  Shameless plug:  we probably won’t use them so if you want to buy them from me, send me an email at theyoungurbanunprofessional@gmail.com

This was the picture from 2010 with the former president Larry Bacow and his wife Adele. This year's photos with the new president Anthony Monaco haven't been posted yet.

image

11:00 - The first piece of the scavenger hunt was to take a picture of one of your team members lying on a bench at Tufts. Good job Sevs on the laying down skills.

image

12:00 - Triple planking on top of the gravity stone. I had no idea this even existed until today. I feel like I learned more about Tufts during this alumni scavenger hunt than I did while I studied there.

image

1:00 - Three excited Jumbos next to Jumbo. I'm disappointed that no one was riding him.

image

2:00 - We found our way to the food tent, this is me enjoying a warm cup of apple cider courtesy of the alumni association.

image

3:00 - House party down the street, kickin it with some of my favorite people ever.

image

4:00 - There was this balloon guy there who was absolutely incredible. Here's Sarah sporting one of his crazy hats, it even had a chinstrap to keep it on snug.

image

5:00 - Hanging out on the porch with some good friends passing around the hat and reminiscing about the old times at Tufts, specifically Spring Break in Jamaica.

image

6:00 - Food time.

image

7:00 - My alarm woke me up from a nap to the show Pan-Am, hooray, or something. Truthfully I'm just really obsessed with this show and watch it every day.

image

8:00 - More Food. This time it's ravioli with tomatoes and mozzarella with vinaigrette and tea, compliments of the chef, Sarah.

image

9:00 - Watching the movie "Being John Malkovich". Sarah and I can never decide on movies to watch so we chose one neither of us had seen. Totally bizarre yet very interesting movie where a master puppeteer takes over the mind/body of actor John Malkovich.

image

10:00 - More "Being John Malkovich".

image

11:00 - Heading up to the Tufts Loj for a few hours sleep before hitting up my 47th peak, Mt. Isolation with Keith and Amy.

image

1:00 - I missed my 12:00 photo because I was sleeping in the car. Apparently I fell asleep in mid-conversation with Amy. My bad. I guess that's what getting 5 hours of sleep the night before will do to you.

The day ended with Keith, Amy, and Myself getting settled in at the Loj in NH at around 1:30am.  We planned to get up around 7am for our trip up Mt. Isolation; 14 miles with plenty of river crossings due to Irene.  The weather forecast was good but on the colder side with bits of snow and ice on a few of the presidential mountains already.  It makes me excited for winter to come.

This entry was posted in October - A Random Photo-Journal of my 5-9 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

