Wednesday October 19th – Turning the Quarter Century; Sick and Rainy with Great Food and Presents

I was born 25 years ago at 5:55am today.  My life has continually improved since then in quality of life, quality of friends, and quality of adventures.  I have high hopes for the next quarter century, although that’s frightening to think about.  Maybe I’ll just think about it in 2-3 year increments to keep it manageable.

Unfortunately my head-cold proved to be a major buzzkill to the celebration of the day that marks the turn of my quarter century.  However, things weren’t so bad because I stayed home from work, it wasn’t worth it to fight through 8 hours of groggy and congested unproductivity, especially on my birthday.  I then went over to Sarah’s for breakfast where she continually made me food all day long, sweet talked the Genius bar at the Apple Store for me, and got me sick seats at the Bruins vs Oilers a few weeks from now (STOKED).  All in all it was a great day (minus the sickness and perpetual rain outside).  The real party comes this weekend though up north when I hike up my last 4,000 footer in NH, I can’t wait.

image

Crepes with maple syrup and cranberry apple butter and BRUINS TICKETS FOR MY BIRTHDAY. Breakfast presents are the best and these are really good seats at the Garden, I'm stoked. Good job Sarah 🙂

image

On the bus on the way to the Apple Store in the downpouring rain. (Not) Perfect weather for having a bad cold.

image

Hanging out at the apple store before being kicked out due the employees needing to set up for a Steve Jobs memorial.

image

Grilled cheese and tomatoe soup for lunch. Today I learned that VT Cheese > MN Cheese without a doubt, buy local!

image

Just realized this now but I'm drinking apple cider at True Grounds while trying to install stuff on my Apple computer, har har. Waiting for Sarah to get out of class. True Grounds is the bomb, the end. I also used the LevelUp App for the first time, it works great and you can get sweet deals.

image

Walking in the rain, poor choice when you have a cold.

image

Pears from the farmer's market yesterday. Sarah is going to make a kickass desert for my bday in lieu of a cake-like desert, I approve. The finished product is at the end of this post.

image

Potatoes and cheddar with tomatoes, mozzarella, and vinaigrette for dinner, all from local farmers markets, all very delicious.

image

Baked caramelized pears with a dollop of sour cream to cut the sweetness. This desert was actually UNBELIEVABLY DELICIOUS, super easy to make and outrageously yummy. Plus it's got fruit in it so it must be healthy right???

image

My randomized alarm went off when I wasn't really doing anything in particular so I didn't know what to take a picture of but I think picture sums it up.

image

Sarah and I doing some stuff on her computer.

image

Wine is healthy right? Also, I made sure to drink lots of water and tea today so I'm was well hydrated. AND it was my birthday so I don't feel bad about drinking some wine even though I'm sick.

image

Watching the movie Troy.

image

Still watching the movie Troy.

image

I forgot that this movie was like 3 hours long. We had planned to go out to the movies but it was raining crazy hard and I wasn't feeling so hot so I decided not to go anywhere.

Birthdays are the best, I wish I had 2-3 every year.  Getting sick was a both a blessing and a curse but I’m hoping that I can shake the cold before Saturday.  I have 10 or so friends coming up north with me to celebrate my last peak.  Now I just have to get through two days of working for the man before I can really enter the 2nd quarter century of my life in style.

This entry was posted in October - A Random Photo-Journal of my 5-9 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday October 19th – Turning the Quarter Century; Sick and Rainy with Great Food and Presents

  1. June says:

    Awesome blog of your birthday…mixed blessings. Let’s here for being loved by someone who knows how to nurture!

Leave a Reply

