Friday October 28th – Halloween in Bean Town

Tonight was part halloween celebration and part celebration of not hiking in NH 🙂 It was fun to be able to hang out with my friends without having to drive 2 hours north.  Also I’ve felt like I’ve missed out on some of the Boston night life over the past 2 months.  However, I’ve saved a bunch of money by leaving the city each weekend.  I largely prefer being out in the woods on the weekends, but partying in Boston certainly has its  time and place.  As always, fun nights in the city usually result in rough mornings, especially when your morning involves running a 10k at 8am in Salem.

image

Riding the shuttle bus that goes to/from my work and the train station. It is incredibly loud because the wheelchair elevator is constantly banging around every time we go over a pothole. Two of the regulars even wear earplugs every day when they get on the bus, yikes.

image

Reading Dracula on the train. So far it's been pretty slow-going plot-wise but so far it's been clear that Dracula is a suave yet ferocious dude and Van Helsing is a well-educated badass. So far so good.

image

Getting off the train. This particular train hasn't upgraded to the newer seats yet so these ones are a bit gross and uncomfortable. The trains change day-day so you never know when you'll be comfortable/uncomfortable. However, they all have wifi which is pretty cool, with 3G on my phone I rarely need to use the wifi.

image

I hit up the Army Barracks store near Berklee School of Music in order to acquire some materials for my Halloween costume. In the spirit of this law being repealed, I am being "Don't Ask Don't Tell" for Halloween. So I bought some army pants that I'm cutting into short shorts that I plan on using in my Devil's Chase race tomorrow morning in Salem. It should be a good time although running in army pants/shorts will probably chafe me like crazy.

image

A shot of the Boston Public Library on my walk home from the Army Barracks.

image

Watching game 7 of the World Series while having a Longtrail Harvest beer for the first time; one of the best brown ales I've ever had. I'll be putting it in my constantly evolving and rotating top 10 favorite beers.

image

A view of my costume from the back. So after the law was repealed does "Don't Ask Don't Tell" then turn into "Ask, Tell"?

image

Two men without pants on; William Wallace and Don't Ask Don't Tell as they're about to head out to the bar with some friends. Too bad it's roughly 32F outside, ugh.

image

A buddy of mine doing upsidown situps on the green line heading to North Station. You can't take climbers anywhere, "This is why we can't have nice things". I was hoping he wouldn't fall on that kid in a stroller next to him haha.

image

Dance party at the bar; 4 mountaineers, William Wallace, Kelly Kapowski a Bayside H.S. Cheerleader, and a Gay Army Guy. These guys are the best. We convinced them around 12:30am to come bandit run this 10k in Salem the next morning. The last thing we said to them as we left the bar was "See you in 4 hours", now those are good friends.

image

A poor picture of the bar scene. It's actually pretty accurate if you use this picture to describe the taste the bar's dj, somewhere between amature and I don't care. Oh well, we still had a blast.

Had a great time with friends and then planned for an early rise at 5:30am on Saturday.  I’ve said it before that my friends and I must be the only people I know who get less sleep on the weekends than they do during the week.  Exchanging sleep for adventures with friends?  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This entry was posted in October - A Random Photo-Journal of my 5-9. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday October 28th – Halloween in Bean Town

  1. Julia says:

    Rocking good time. You guys are party animals and running animals, too. Perfect Hallows’ Eve Eve!

Leave a Reply

