Saturday October 29th – The Devil’s Chase 10K, a Halloween Nor’easter, and Hypothermia

Today was epic.  Despite staying out on the town until 12:30am, my friends and I managed to pull ourselves together enough to get to Salem, MA for a costume 10k.  The name of the race was the Devil’s Chase so everyone dressed up as devils, except for us of course.  Also only 3/7 of us actually paid for the race, the rest bandited it.  After the race we had a hot tub session, ate the most delicious roast beef sandwiches in the world, took a few hours off to recover, then made it to BC for a hockey game, got slightly hypothermic from the freezing rain, and rounded out the night with making new friends at yet another Halloween party.

I had a funny feeling when we were driving home from Salem and I finally figured out that it was because it felt like a Sunday.  The idea of driving down I-93 in the afternoon reminded me exactly of every Sunday for the past 2 months of driving back from NH.  I was thoroughly excited when I realized that it was indeed NOT Sunday and that I had a whole extra day to my weekend.  Hiking is great but I must admit that it was nice to just hang around the Boston area and not venture too far up north.

image

Rise and shine at 5:30am. Had to take the T to where my roommate's car was parked and then we had to go pick up our friends. The race was at 8:00am, ugh. I've never had my soul ripped out of me before, but waking up at 5:30am today I'm sure was pretty close to what that would feel like.

image

In the train station before 6:00am on a Saturday. I wasn't surprised that we literally didn't see one other person.

image

In Salem all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed getting geared up for the race. It was below freezing when we woke up today and it didn't get much warmer.

image

A shot of the starting line. I've never seen so many devil costumes in my life but I guess that's expected at the "Devil's Chase".

image

I apparently missed the memo that you had to wear a devil's costume. This is me cheering people on after I finished the race. We ran it much faster than we initially wanted to but it's hard to suppress the competitive side sometimes.

image

Everyone having a good time in the hot tub after the race. A good soak in hot water with good people = the best thing ever. You guys are (good looking) champions!

image

Hydrating and telling stories in the kitchen of our friend's parents house which we hijacked for a few hours in order to warmup.

image

I've never seen such a crazy amount of Halloween decorations in my life, I wish this picture could do it justice but it's missing the graveyard, blowup monsters, and woods filled with witches and vampires. Breathtaking, or something, either way we had to stop and take photos.

image

Playing some guitar. I decided to take a picture of a major flaw in the wood used to build this guitar that only came out when it was stained darker. You can see the discoloration where the stain was taken up real dark. The wood in these areas are more porous so they stain darker, that's why the original guitar was stained with light stain so it wouldn't be noticeable. But I suppose that's the difference between a guitar that costs a few hundred dollars new and then a new $1000 guitar. Still sounds fantastic though.

image

COFFEE COFFEE COFFEE. Grabbing some caffeine at the best coffee shop on the planet, True Grounds in Somerville. This coffee is like if rocket fuel met ballroom dancing; it's elegant and tasteful but it brings you up to warp speed pretty quickly..

image

Doing some blog shenanigans. A largely uninteresting photo but it is what it is.

image

This is what two weeks worth of receipts looks like in my wallet. Maybe it's just me but I find it crazy that I get receipts for things like a coffee, i.e. something I can't return and/or don't need proof of purchase for. Clothing or outdoor gear, sure, because you might want to return it but in the age of information (2011) we shouldn't be producing this much paper for simple things that technology can take care of.

image

At Park Street heading out to a BC/UMass Lowell hockey game at BC. It took me forever to get here because the red line is shut down due to elevator work. So you have to take shuttle buses. They take longer but I suppose you still get from Point A to Point B without having to walk or drive yourself.

image

On the BC shuttle bus heading to the rink from the Reservoir stop. Much faster than taking the B line all the effing way out to BC. Shaves off 20-30 minutes doing it this way.

image

Back on the BC shuttle bus after the game. I didn't notice my alarm going off while the game was in progress so I missed out on a photo of the game. Summary: BC crushed Lowell like they were a bunch of tiny baby school children.

image

At Roggie's after the game enjoying some pizza and some not-so-good apple pie beer (apple cider + winter warmer = gross).

image

Hanging out at a friend's house sheltered from the freezing rain and the slight bought of hypothermia we got as a result. We were greeted at the door with warm (and spiked) apple cider, that's almost the same as wearing a jacket right?

Today was great but by the time it hit midnight I was EXHAUSTED.  So I left our friends house earlier than everyone else because I literally couldn’t keep my eyes open.  It was either fall asleep at the party and look like an idiot or go home early and look like an idiot.  I chose the latter idiocy and I think it worked out pretty well in my favor.  I have nothing planned for Sunday besides some foolish errands so I’m excited to hang out for a day without any particular agenda.

This entry was posted in October - A Random Photo-Journal of my 5-9 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

