Man Cannot Live on Bagels, Pasta and Cupcakes Alone

So far my diet hasn’t really been that fulfilling.  I find that I’m not giving myself much time to prepare good meatless meals which as a result I end up eating lot’s of bagels, cereal, and sweets (snickers bars, cupcakes, cookies).  So it seems clear that my body wants sugar, probably because I’m not giving myself enough calories.  I also haven’t been working out because I’m always tired.  It might have something to do with doing to SBS sports leagues late at night on work nights but I’m sure the diet is a main contributor.  I’ve also had cravings for chocolate milk which I’ve used before as a recovery drink after workouts.  It’s got a good amount of protein and lots of calcium which is good for a post-workout drink.

image

Garelick Farms Chocolate Milk (local and no hormones = bonus!) and english muffin pizzas, yummy but largely unfulfilling.

In the past I’ve routinely made the mistake of not making lunch for work the night before and it always comes back to bite me because our cafeteria is pretty gross.  So tonight I made Tomato Ravioli from Trader Joe’s (or Trader Giotto’s if you’re italian) which was delicious.

image

Goat Cheese and Sundried Tomato Ravioli with Trader Joe's Marinara Sauce. I really should learn how to make my own sauce but I'm too lazy in the kitchen.

On my way home from work I was surprised/delighted to find the Kickass Cupcake van parked outside of my apartment.  I’m not sure whether or not I love or hate the fact that once/week this van is outside my home.  I usually pass it up but today I couldn’t help myself, I was hungry so my stomach was like “gimme ALL the cupcakes”.  So I got a cookie dough cupcake.

image

The Kickass Cupcake Van. I love the fact that Boston does this now, having food trucks around the city from various restaurants outside the city limits. Kickass Cupcakes and Redbones are both out in Somerville but who's going to go out there just for pulled pork and cupcakes? Me.

image

Nom, nom, nom, cookie dough cupcake from Kickass Cupcakes.

I can’t subsist on bagels, pasta, and cupcakes for a whole month (or can I).  So I’m definitely looking for recipe suggestions.  I’ve received some from friends that look promising and relatively easy.  Keep em’ coming 🙂

This entry was posted in December - Meat Eater to Plant Eater. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Man Cannot Live on Bagels, Pasta and Cupcakes Alone

  1. Julia says:

    Tofu scrambles are quick and with cheese + spices– very delicious and filling! But sweets aren’t the end of the world… everything in moderation?

Leave a Reply

