Vegetarianism – Good in Theory, Not Yet in Practice

Today (Saturday) marked a shift in my vegetarian lifestyle, I’ve officially moved from near constant nausea and bloating to constant acid reflux (TMI?).  I burp constantly, more than I ever thought possible (at least it’s not coming out the other end, TMI again?).  Regardless, my body is still rejecting whatever I’m doing to it.  My change in diet was indeed drastic so I’m not entirely surprised.  I think I’m going to have to isolate elements of my diet to try and pinpoint what the issue is.  I don’t remember the last time I had acid reflux like this (probably more than 10 years ago).  I’m not sure what the culprit is but I’m sure it’s more than just lack of protein.  It could be the dramatic increase in beans and cheese?  We’ll see.

I’ve started eating more rolled oats from Trader Joes.  They’re super hearty as compared to standard oatmeal and instant oatmeal.  They also take much longer to cook but it’s definitely worth it.  Today for breakfast I had rolled oats with raisins and walnuts as well as some toasted French Toast Bread (plain) and whole wheat bread with Trader Joes Cranberry Apple Jam.  Basically it was a fantastic way to start the day, the only thing that was missing was about a liter of fresh coffee (pretty tired despite 10 hours of sleep).

image

Rolled oats, raisins, walnuts, french toast bread, whole wheat bread, and cranberry apple jam.

image

Nom nom nom nom.

For lunch I made a quesadilla (thanks to Sarah) that consisted of corn tortillas, refried pinto beans, cheddar, and meatless meatballs.  I was interested to see how I would like the meatless meatballs, I find it a funny concept at least.  It turns out that I really liked them a lot.  They had a good flavor but it was really all about the texture for me.  It took what would have been a mushy quesadilla and gave it some “meat”, it really made the meal for me.  So far so good on the faux-meet front, I like the veggie burgers and the meatless meatballs, both of which are soy-based so I guess it turns out I like soy-based products, who knew?

For dinner Sarah and I went to Sushi Express out on the green line because we had a Scout Mob deal for it, 50% off up to $15 worth of sushi.  It wasn’t exactly a hole in the wall but it was a basement level restaurant with 5 tables and super cheap sushi.  I read reviews online beforehand that said it was a hidden gem, cheap sushi but still quality sushi and there’s never a line (shhh don’t tell anyone).

image

I got the california roll sushi, I still wasn't really feeling that well so I went for avocado and faux-crab instead of something more adventurous, not sure my stomach would have tolerated it.

image

Mochi ice cream for desert. This stuff is sooooo freaking good, I could eat like 30 of them.

image

Late-night pizza from Upper Crust. I hadn't been feeling well so I stayed in and watched a movie with Sarah (which may or may not have been a romantic comedy). The pizza surprisingly didn't bother my stomach too aside from the ever-present acid reflux I've been feeling all day.

Before this month I was a heavy protein eater with  most days having 1-2 meals that were 50% protein and 50% carbohydrates (and no not the carbs from vegetables), not really for any other reason than that’s what I’m used to.  I’d cut up a huge chicken breast or steak and maybe some rice and cheese all mixed in a bowl and eat that as my meal and call it good.  If I was feeling frisky I’d throw in some broccoli.  It’s worked for me for many years as an athlete, climber, hiker, etc so I’m interested to see how this month expands my nutrition to benefit my outdoor extracurriculars, hopefully in a beneficial way but that remains to be seen.  I’m convinced in theory but not yet in practice.

This entry was posted in December - Meat Eater to Plant Eater. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetarianism – Good in Theory, Not Yet in Practice

  1. June says:

    Cooked oats gives Frank acid problems. Try other cooked grains for breakfast, including brown rice with same condiments as oatmeal. Also beans are hard to digest; eat more rice and potatoes instead of beans. Soy can be a digestion challenge too. Are you eating dairy? Cottage cheese with fruit cut up on it and muesli mixed in is a satisfying breakfast lunch or snack

Leave a Reply

