Pulled Pork Truck, Free Pizza, and is Pepsi Hipster?

Once I got home from work today I decided to get take-out instead of make my own meal.  I worked out pretty hard during lunch and was craving something greasy and delicious.  On any normal night I would have immediately gone for this:

image

Red Bones I love you. I also love the fact you have a truck that drives around my neighborhood to sell me pulled-pork sandwiches. Maybe after my vegetarian challenge is over in January I'll bask in the glory that is the Red Bones truck. Too bad the truck doesn't also sell beer.

This month’s challenge has definitely allowed me to become more critical of the things I’m putting in my body for food.  By taking meat off the table I’ve been forced to try things like soy, tofu, quinoa, alternative sources of protein, and a variety of veggies.  I’ve also been doing a lot of reading about industrialized food and how frighteningly far it is from mimicking nature and evolution.  I don’t think that the new information will scare me into being vegetarian entirely as it does with some people but I do think that it’ll make me more conscious of where my meat comes from (i.e. no more meat wrapped in Styrofoam from Shaws, both my No Landfill Month and my Vegetarian Month heartily oppose that notion).  I definitely plan to join a CSA (community supported agriculture) and also perhaps going in on a purchase of a cow with several people so that I have a stock of meat ready in the freezer from local farm that raises and feeds its animals the way they evolved to live (i.e. no hormones, antibiotics, pesticides, eating grass not corn, etc).

Knowing more about food and nutrition is great but it’s still not going to keep me from eating greasy pizza 🙂 Mmmm

I went to Upper Crust Pizza and ordered two slices of cheese pizza and they gave me a third free because they felt the first two were too small. Awesome 🙂

After pizza at Upper Crust I stopped by the CVS to pick up a few odds and ends and this Mountain Dew bottle caught my eye.

image

A soft drink without high fructose corn syrup?!?!?! Wowzers.

image

It's got real sugar (albiet a ton of it, 73 grams per bottle!!!) but it's still got more than a few sketchy ingredients that I can hardly pronounce.

It’s a “throwback edition” which really means it uses real sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup (HFCS).  I’ve read a lot of about HFCS over the past few weeks and it’s pretty scary how it’s literally in EVERYTHING in America.  Many companies made the switch from real sugar to HFCS in the 1980’s.  It’s cheap, it’s subsidized by the government (corn), and it’s American made, what’s not to like about that?  Here’s a good article by TreeHugger.com on the use of “throwback” sodas Pepsi is making.  Does this make Pepsi a hipster because they’re trying to bring back something cool from the 80’s that’s not cool anymore?

I don’t drink a lot of soda but when I do, Mountain Dew is usually my go-to.  I don’t really like high carbonation so I like the smoothness of Mountain Dew vs the fizzyness of Pepsi or Coke.  I agree that soda is bad for you regardless of whether it has HFCS or real sugar, but everything in moderation right?  I can see the benefits of using real sugar in soft drinks but ultimately I think the benefit is overshadowed by everything else that is in them (exorbitantly high sugar content, yellow 5, gum arabic, etc???).  Does it taste better?  My verdict was yes it does taste better but it doesn’t mean it’s healthier for you.

This entry was posted in December - Meat Eater to Plant Eater. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

